Week 39 Baby-Step Creation: Foxy Nursery Artwork

It’s an Art Attack! Ages and ages ago I went to Spotlight on a mission to find my next project I found an adorable cartoon fox iron on transfer. I bought it on the spot, with a reminder set in my brain to use it on something cute in the future. Now the time has come.

This is a simple artwork project, and all you’ll need is:

  • a small canvas
  • an iron on transfer
  • a calligraphy pen
  • hot glue gun (or any quick setting material glue).

IMG_5113

If you are the arty type or looking for a challenge you could buy a lovely bunch of paints and have a go yourself. I am strictly a craft person NOT an artist, so I’ll stick with what I know! Now, I took my inspiration for this from an Etsy painting I saw online, and though ‘bright eyed and bushy tailed’ was a super cute phrase to use with my gorgeous fox.

IMG_5119

Practise makes perfect! Before you start writing on your canvas, have a go at the typeface you want to replicate on some scrap paper, and then as below – have another practice on the back of the canvas so you can see how the pen will take to the material.

IMG_5114

Stick and place your transfer on and you’re ready for the hard bit.
IMG_5115 IMG_5117 IMG_5118

So a word of advice – calligraphy pens are inky as (surprise!). You’ll see above I managed to smudge my gorgeous work of art at the last moment! Sigh. But you know what, the materials are so cheap that if I was going to give it as a gift for someone’s new baby I’d put this one down to practice and just buy a new canvas, peel off the transfer and start from scratch. Easy šŸ™‚

Love to hear your ideas...

