Week 12 Baby-Step Creation: Prepping for the Halloween Season

Halloween isn’t a big deal here, but after going bananas with decorations and a no-excuses costume party last year, I’m more than in love with this adopted holiday!

IMG_3778

Sorting through last year’s decorations getting ready for October 31.

This week is somewhat of a ‘throwback’ post – I wanted to share the silhouette cutouts I made for our home’s window display last year that I have just pulled out of storage.

IMG_3779

They were dead (geddit) simple, and all you need to replicate them is:

* 1 or 2 large sheets of thin black card from the newsagent

* sharp scissors or a stanley knife

* a pencil

* your imagination.

I traipsed about the web for a while until I found a few ideas I wanted to use, but add my own personal touch to. And the results were brilliant!

A few pics from the day time...

A few pics from the day time…

IMG_3781

IMG_3782 IMG_3783

...and the spooky horror story at night!

…and the spooky horror story at night!

IMG_3785 IMG_3786

We went all out last year with the pumpkin carving; here’s a few pics of the elaborate creations:

IMG_2682

Our front porch ready for trick or treaters.

My first attempt at pumpkin carving.

My very first attempt at pumpkin carving.

My second attempt at pumpkin carving - Mr Ooogie Boogie (form The Nightmare Before Christmas)

My second attempt – Mr Ooogie Boogie (from The Nightmare Before Christmas)

My pumpkin vomiting pumpkin-flavoured dip.

My pumpkin vomiting pumpkin-flavoured dip.

IMG_2699

The amazing efforts from the pumpkin carving contest (note the Lionel Ritchie ‘HELLO’ pumpkin carved by the Lionel Ritchie costume-wearer).

Happy haunting 🙂

IMG_2723

Love to hear your ideas...

