Week 11 Baby-Step Creation: Permanent Texta Porcelain

Browse around on Pinterest for long enough and you’ll come across a wide variety of permanent texta/Sharpie art on a huge range of kitchenware. And it all looks pretty simple, so I thought it would be a perfect Baby-Steps Creation endeavour.

IMG_3757What you’ll need:

A porcelain ‘thing’. Mugs, plates, jugs, salt and pepper shakers – the list goes on, just check out your local homewares sale section, you’ll be sure to find something inexpensive that could do with a make over.

A good quality permanent marker, and depending on what you’ll be drawing, one with a thin tip so you can be precise.

IMG_3756

 

Now I command thee to let your imagination run wild! Are words your thing? Or perhaps you can draw killer petunias. Whatever it is, make sure you practise beforehand, and remember that you won’t be drawing on a flat surface, so it can take a while to get used to.

All you have to do now is bake your creation in the oven for 20-30 minutes at about 175’C. I was a little worried that the tiny plate wouldn’t hold up to the heat, but it worked out perfectly.

IMG_3765

IMG_3766

Just like all other baked goodies, these are going to need some time to cool.

 

I’m actually really happy with them – I shied away from any real arty pictures because that simply isn’t my forte. But I thoroughly recommend giving it a crack.

I saw this on a mug in a shop in town and it still makes me giggle, so though I'd have a shot at recreating it.

I saw this on a mug in a shop in town and it still makes me giggle, so though I’d have a shot at recreating it.

We've got a wedding coming up and I thought this might make a cute gift to go along with our wishing well contribution - it's a tiny dish to pop your rings in when you're cooking or cleaning up and you don't want to ruin your bling.

We’ve got a wedding coming up and I thought this might make a cute gift to go along with our wishing well contribution – it’s a tiny dish to pop your rings in when you’re cooking or cleaning up and you don’t want to ruin your bling.

And of course my personal mantra...

And of course my personal mantra…

...eat cake (or chocolate) for breakfast.

…eat cake (or chocolate) for breakfast.

Happy creating!

Love to hear your ideas...

