Week Ten Baby-Step Creation: DIY Natural Citrus Air Freshener

As we’re leaving the winter months behind here in Oz (hoorah!), the one thing I will miss is pulling on my favourite tan boots. So as it’s now time to pack them and their friends away for the next six months, I don’t want the well worn leather sending odours through the wardrobe. But I’m not a massive fan of chemicals, and the thought of a bunch of ingredients I can’t pronounce spurting out of a coloured glass bottle plugged into the wall makes me positively queasy.

On Frankie magazine’s Facebook page, I came across this nifty tutorial on DIY citrus air fresheners, and all the ingredients can simply be sourced from your local supermarket or grocer.

IMG_3731

This is another with very little direction needed – all you have to do is scoop out the lime or lemon and leave behind the rind. I started by using a small knife and teaspoon, but ended up using an orange juicer – that way I was able reuse the juice too (and you can remake the shape of the fruit in the next step when filling it up with rock salt).

IMG_3732

Find an egg cup to pop your fruit in – this helps you pack the salt in, and creates a great little home so it doesn’t tip over.

Pack in the rock salt, pat down with the back of your teaspoon and you’re almost there. I popped out to the recently established herb garden (which, FYI, is going gangbusters!) and picked some of the chocolate mint for extra scent and decoration.

IMG_3733 IMG_3735

And again, that’s all there is to it! I’ve had the creation in my wardrobe for a couple days now (which is when it’s recommended to replace), and although the scent hasn’t been particularly strong nor immediately apparent, I have noted the absence of a shoey smell. I’m calling this a success =)

And the left over lime juice? I combined it with some water and it’s currently turning into delicious ice cubes in the freezer, ready for the summer gin and tonic season.

Love to hear your ideas...

