Week Seven Baby-Step Creation: DIY Tea Bags and Tags

I am not a coffee drinker, in fact I don’t even like the smell of coffee. ESPECIALLY first thing in the morning. There, I said it… are you still there? I hope so, because for the tea drinkers among us I’ve got a fun tea bag craft project that would be a cute idea for a personalised gift or just to put a smile on your face during the morning tea break.

I found the directions via Frankie Magazine – you’ll want to check it out for the ‘how-to’ details. Another one with very few elements to gather together, the most important thing to do is find a loose leaf tea that you really dig. I find I don’t really drink much chai unless someone else makes it for me, so that was one of my picks.

IMG_3670

IMG_3669

Can’t get away from the coffee! Chop up some coffee filters to make your tea bag bags.

Again, check out the Frankie post, but with a few simple folds…

IMG_3671… and by adding a teaspoon of your tea of choice and stapling on a length of string…

IMG_3672

… you’ll easily have your very own parcel of fragrant goodness all ready for its tea bag tag.

I had a couple of ideas for the pattern of the tags, and with the clay sculpting tools I could easily poke holes, slice straight lines and stamp circles – all ready to bake them in the oven. You’ll find both clay and the sculpting tools at the craft superstore.

IMG_3688

Here’s where it got a bit more difficult, and keeping an open mind and a keen sense of what ‘trial and error’ means is very important. The online directions for baking the clay didn’t suit my over-enthusiastic oven and on my first try they ended up a little on the crispy/burnt side.

IMG_3692I made the tags a little thicker, and limited the cooking time to 8 minutes at 175’C and they worked out pretty well (and kept their colour). Letting them cool for a bit they hardened up some more too. Finally I looped them into the string and now I’m ready to impress at the next high tea. Or you could wrap them up in some cellophane and ribbon for a low cost, love-infused gift. Make sure you don’t throw the tags away and you can recycle them for the next batch.

IMG_3691

IMG_3693

Enjoying my tea in the sunny backyard, it doesn’t get any better than this =)

 

2 thoughts on “Week Seven Baby-Step Creation: DIY Tea Bags and Tags

Love to hear your ideas...

