Week Four Baby-Step Creation: Mini Gardens

The green thumb gene didn’t skip a generation in my family, just the whole barrow-load was only dumped on my brother’s patch of dirt. But not being one to give up without a fight, here’s my attempt to fit in with the rest of the Walkers and skilfully locate the potting mix with ease.

We’re renting and although there is a big garden to look after, my housemate and I have been banging on about about creating a mobile herb garden since we moved in. A few weeks back he nailed some wheels on a crate and I bought some herbs from the market, and now we’ve finally put our mini garden together and we’re pretty darn proud of ourselves!

We got another housemate to come along as extra muscle.

We got another housemate to come along as extra muscle.

Getting out hands dirty on a very cold morning.

Getting our hands dirty on a very cold morning.

The finished product! (Astroboy is on pest duty).

The finished product! (Astroboy is on pest duty).

Although this was loads of fun and I can’t wait to work out what I’m going to use the chocolate mint leaves (!) for, my real inspiration for this post was originally an indoor mini garden.

Regent Arcade in the Adelaide CBD is renting out empty spaces to up-and-coming businesses, and one shop called Boo and Hoo sells homemade candles, small pieces of artwork, and succulents in an array of every-day containers. Tea cups, small suitcases, vases – you name it, it has a leafy plant delicately enclosed within. I love the simplicity of these pseudo-terrariums, a low maintenance indoor plant that looks really snappy.

IMG_3619

 

The method is pretty self explanatory, but if you’re after some instructions check out Home Life for tips on how to care for succulents.

I chose to put mine in a glass bowl and what I like most about it is you can see the layers of stones and soil through the glass, seeming to bring the outdoor indoor even more so. If you can’t find stones or pebbles in the size you’re after at the plant nursery, do what my partner suggested and check out the local pet store for some aquarium pebbles.

And if you are not in the market for a new pet, do NOT by any means buy a puppy while you’re there, eye on the prize, just keep repeating to yourself ‘pebbles, pebbles, pubbles, puppies’. No, wait, that’s not right…

All you need - a couple succulents/cacti, a place to put them, some rocks and some everyday potting soil.

All you need – a couple succulents/cacti, a place to put them, some rocks and some everyday potting soil.

Place a fair amount of stones or pebbles at the bottom of your vase - it helps with drainage.

Place a fair amount of stones or pebbles at the bottom of your vase – it helps with drainage.

My new indoor babies. They don't need much love - just water them once a week and whisper sweetly to them each morning how green they look. Or don't do that last bit, your choice depending on what level of crazy you're at.

My new indoor babies. They don’t need much love – just water them once a week and whisper sweetly to them each morning, commenting how green they look. Or don’t do that last bit, it’s your choice depending on what level of crazy you’re at.

I’ve been really surprised with how much I love my new baby plants – it makes me very happy when I see them each morning as I reach for my cereal. Perhaps I did get a little offshoot of the green thumb after all.

Love to hear your ideas...

